PCT18 3 Aug

One of the mantras has been “we’ll really speed up in Oregon because it really flattens out”. Well, I’m about 150 miles in to Oregon and it hasn’t flattened out yet. The hike out of Cascade Locks, is the toughest climb on the PCT, a 4300 ft climb. Oregon may not have flattened out, but it has shown a lot of variety. Usually we hike over a big mountain each day, but we also get to see (and swim in) some amazing lakes and ponds. There have been a lot of burn areas. A lot of rocky areas. And the amazing AYCE breakfast at Timberline Lodge on Mt Hood. Also had the first trail magic yesterday, a cooler of drinks and snacks by the trail side. Today we experienced hiking through lava fields. I felt like I was on the way to Mordor. I hear there is more lava field hiking coming up.

For now I am visiting old friends Bob and Debbie Blanchard in Eugene. It wonderfully refreshing to be in their home. Tomorrow, a zero day! Yeh.

6 thoughts on “PCT18 3 Aug

  1. Nancy

    The burnt areas seem incredibly sad. Beautiful mountains. Glad you’re visiting with the Blanchards. I still have a kokeshi doll that Debbie gave me on Okinawa. Good to hear from you.

    Reply
    1. debahlynn

      Nancy, I’m so touched that you still have the doll I gave you. I have one kokeshi from my childhood, and though it is faded, I love having it. I hope you are doing well, enjoying your family. It was great to have Patrick here a couple days. Great to see him again.

      Reply
  2. Eddie V

    Wow Pat, You’ve made incredible progress since your last post. In southern CA we are experiencing relentless heat – which I am sure you are getting your share of as well…my hope is that it fades substantially by the time you get to the lower latitudes. You continue to inspire me Pat. I am so proud to know you…be well my friend…and be safe.

    Reply
  3. Eddie V

    Pat, I just found this notice and thought you should read this immediately….

    BEAR ADVISORY: In light of the rising frequency of human/grizzly bear encounters,
    the Oregon Department of Fish and Game has issued the following
    advisory to hikers, hunters, and fishermen while in the field:

    It is strongly advised that outdoorsmen wear noisy little bells on their clothing so as not to startle grizzly bears that aren’t expecting outdoorsmen to be walking
    in their habitat.

    It is also strongly advised that outdoorsmen carry non-lethal pepper
    spray with them in case of an encounter with a grizzly.

    The Department of Natural Resources for Oregon states it is a good idea to watch out for fresh signs of bear activity. Outdoorsmen should be able to recognize the difference between black bear and grizzly bear poop.

    Black bear poop is smaller and contains lots of berries and many times squirrel fur.

    Grizzly bear poop is larger, has little bells in it and smells like pepper.

    Reply

Leave a comment